A conversation with Professor Carmel-Gilfilen

Candy Carmel-Gilfilen, assistant professor of interior design, was recently named the DCP Teacher of the Year for 2009-2010. How did she feel about this honor? Just read on to find out.

************************

How long have you been teaching here at UF?
5 years

What classes do you teach?
Interior Design Studios (sophomore & senior level), Construction Documents, Professional Practice and Design Field Experience

How did you feel about receiving the Teacher of the Year Award?
Very happy and honored.

How would you describe your teaching style?
My teaching approach focuses on providing a bridge to the profession. This is accomplished through using real-world design projects, industry advances related to technology, and hands-on approaches to designing and learning.

What was your proudest teaching moment?
This is a really hard question to answer. I think my proudest moments are when my students shine.  This can include a student winning a competition, a student standing up for the profession even in opposition, a student proudly presenting designs to a jury, or a former student passing the professional examination. My semesters are filled with these moments.

What are your goals for this spring semester, for your students or yourself?
This semester (and this summer) the department is launching a required design field experience program for undergraduate students. This includes options for professional internships, service learning, study abroad or domestic programs, and research experiences. Since I serve as the coordinator for this program the goal I have set for myself and my students is to help place all students in their desired experience. I would also like to strengthen the relationship the department has with leading firms across the U.S.

What is unique about teaching interior design?
Interior design is a studio-based discipline (this is similar to many of the other disciplines in the college). I absolutely love teaching studio. I love entering a new adventure at each desk. I love the questions, the discussions, and the projects we use as learning vehicles.  Every day I am in the studio (and classroom) I am challenged to learn a little bit more about myself and a lot about becoming a better educator.

Leave a comment